Pantry and Panties
2005-08-07 9:42 p.m.

The Samurai and I bit the bullet Friday and bought some extra storage for the kitchen, a tall pantry-ish cabinet and a shorter version to go next to it. We have wall space, so it seemed reasonable. I assembled both (!!! heavy !!!) while he was at aikido, so they're in the kitchen now. Turns out the pantry holds ALL of our non-refrigerated food and the shorter one will be a phone book/stationery storage place. Both very, very good.

So, now I have room for the other six boxes of dishes, mostly serving pieces I've never used. Some of the stuff I unpacked hasn't been out of its box in twenty years, after it arrived as wedding giftage. I have an egg plate. Who knew? I own a cake pedestal, although I don't have any cake pans that would make something that would fit on it. I have a bunch of crystal bowls and a lovely etched fish platter. I had no earthly idea. I guess I better have a highfalutin' shindig soon, so I can use it all. I even have a silver coffee service. What on earth do you do with a silver coffee service? Hope the French Ambassador comes to call?

The dining room is emptying nicely. The Box Mountains are down to rolling foothills, and the window is actually visible! I guess I need curtains in there now. The only people who can see in are our rear neighbors, but I'm paranoid. I want my undies to stay private, thanks. (I have an alarming habit of coming in from yardwork all filthy and disrobing in the garage, in front of the washer. Exciting, eh?)

Next week, we go back to Arlington for another memorial service. This one honors all five guys from the Pilot's plane, including the Iraqi pilot. We really want to be there, for Beth and for the families of the other four guys. The Preacher and Miss Inez are coming, too. It will be hotter than blue blazes, so I better survey the dress selection and find something cool to wear.

We're going to hit Ikea on the way home and get the bookcases for the Dinebrary (dining room/library), so I guess I'll be doing more furniture assembly later this week. If I get that situation straightened out, the rest falls into place. It's like a big, expensive Rubik's cube. Books out of Batcave and into Dinebrary;comix and TPB's into Batcave, plus action figures;computer desk into Batcave, and finis!

Well, finis until the Doom Bathroom project gets cookin'. Yes, I'm putting it off. Yuck, yuck, yuck.

Saw Sky High last night with Raj and Kim. Silly movie. Moderately amusing. Think Harry Potter meets the X-men.

Still need to see Napoleon Dynamite, Jack and Rose, and Constantine.

On the Headbone: the Seldom Scene (bluegrass!) and more Foo Fighters (God Bless Dave Grohl!)

previous - next




Diaryland