Human Kleenex
2005-06-04 9:53 p.m.

The Samurai reports that the memorial services for the Pilot were both quite moving. He says the hangar on base Friday was packed. We've seen quite a few articles pop up on the web since then, and I'm dutifully printing them all. (The Momsisters, Aint Claudette and Aint Marjorie, are scouring the Web!)

The phone has not stopped ringing here. I've talked to lots of folks I really missed. We've received some lovely cards, too. The ones we got today had me in tears. We are so blessed.

Now, to solve the problem of what to do when you are trying not to miss your husband. Hmmm.

Home improvement is always good. I went to Home Despot and bought a new screen door for the slider, and a new doorbell. Got a lovely Roman blind for the kitchen (dark window creeeeepy) at Le Mart du Kaye. Bought hypo-allergenic dog food for Casey the Grumpus. That's when I lost it, right in Animal Jungle. See, it's duck-and-potato dog food. (Weird, I know.) One of the Pilot's latest catch phrases (he had many), from Monty Python, was, "It's a DUCK!" He said it so much at Christmas that he got us all indoctrinated. So, yes, apparently I'm going to weep every time I see the word "duck" for a while.

I'm also going to be avoiding a lot of movies. Can't watch "The Incredibles," "Sky Pilot," "Cast Away," or "Always." (Plane crashes.) Definitely won't be watching any Civil War movies. Even "Bambi" turned out to be a bad idea. I've been sticking to home improvement shows.

Large bouts of grief-stricken weeping aren't my style. I tend to dole out my tears when they're triggered, over the course of months, or even years. I still get misty when I see Oldcastle blue somewhere. I found a bone needle recently that Finnr had given me, and got a bit weepy. I'm just gonna be a soggy mess for a while.


previous - next




Diaryland