Spin Cycle!
2005-05-13 6:50 p.m.

I don't know what time it is or where I am anymore.

This week has been a whirlwind of progress reports, my first real grad class (not the watered-down courses-for-teachers version, but the good kind with a Dinoperfesser and lots of quizzes), Forensics practice, and more crappy teenager behavior than you can shake a referral at.

I like my class, although I am the second-oldest student in there and the only one who seems to be at all organized. (Hey, I printed all the handouts after the first class, stuck 'em in a binder with dividers by date, and brought 'em with me to class. The others looked at me like I was trotting around carrying stone tablets or something.) Dr. Dinoperfesser is quite interesting, and I think I like linguistics. It's helpful that I know a lot about grammar, spelling rules, and sentence diagrams, too. It's a lot of work, but I don't mind if it's interesting.

Next week is our Forensics tournament (that's the public speaking kind, y'all, not the dead people kind) and I'm fixing to boot two kids off the team. One of them said a bunch of really dumb, obscene stuff in my class today, and I will not take him to another school to represent us if I can't count on him to be a gentleman. I'll call his momma on Sunday. He's being a real posterior.

I also get to go to a meeting next week and find out more about my summer writing fellowship. I'm really stoked about that.

Of course, I want to do some other stuff this weekend. I have bulbs and flowers to plant, lawn to mow (before we can no longer see Mr. Bun-bun out back), and fence to fix. I also need to staple the phone line up under the siding so the squirrels will quit chewing on it. I'm hoping the Samurai will fix the chain-link fence so it will support some mandevilla.

I also want to find time to watch all the old Star Wars movies before I go see The Walking Hormone Becomes a Glorified Vacuum Cleaner. I'm planning to giggle quite a bit during the new film, because Mr. Lucas writes him some primo cornball dialogue.

Found out the other day that the new Bats flick comes out on our twentieth anniversary! How apropos! We'll enjoy ourselves. At that point, we'll have two days of school left.

I'm off to veg in front of da teevee. Having an urge to root in the DVDs and find something girly to watch. Maybe Spider-Man 2.

Hey, anyone know where I can get a good beginner acoustic guitar for an 11-year-old boy?

previous - next




Diaryland