Booby Socks
2005-04-07 10:20 p.m.

Walkin' around class today. Kids are working hard on a dictionary assignment, which is hard because there are words, and words are hard because you have to use your alphabet, and that involves singing, to remember which letters come next.(Yes, they are eighth graders, and yes, I am serious.)

Suddenly, and LOUDLY, Billy asks me," Missus EduCait, what are booby socks?"

"Scuze me?" says I. "Tell me you didn't say what I thought you just said."

By now the whole class is looking at Bill, all work halted, because he's talking about titties, and everyone in the room (except me) wants some, just for different purposes.

"It says here, in the dictionary, 'booby socks,' how is that possible?" Billy replies, grinning wickedly.

"No, Bill, those are BOBBY socks. Your mother will enjoy hearing about them when I call her to set up your detention."

No one breathed a word about other body parts that can be encased in socks. No one.

I'm gonna run away and join the circus. Think they'd let me be a roustabout? I'm little, but I'm very strong. I can pitch hay to heffalumps and horsies. Just get me outta this place!

previous - next




Diaryland