Starts with a "C" and has "lobberin'" in it!
2005-04-06 7:27 p.m.

This week is making me want to Hulk Out, and it's only Wednesday!

Yesterday was supposed to be the closing on our home equity loan, so we can get decent windows on the Hoose. Now, I signed the deal on the windows only after careful consultation with our mortgage guy, who assured me that all was well with regard to financing. No sweat. He referred me to a different guy (uh-oh) who took a week longer to get stuff set up than he should have. Guy #2 tells me we need a new appraisal (WTF?) or we can't do the loan. We weather the appraisal fine, loan is approved, closing set, the Samurai and I race to get there in time after school, aaaand...all the paperwork is wrong. Wrong amounts. Wrong interest rate. I called Guy #2 from the closing location, and he confirmed that all was, indeed, wrong. So we gotta do it again on Friday, with the racing outta school and the traffic and the signing. I will be a nassty meeeeean lady if it's wrong again.

Then, today, at school, our power keeps going off, then coming on, then going off again, all day. Why is this a problem? The bathrooms, they have no windows, and no auxiliary lights. The children, they have thimble-sized bladders. No, they can't pee in the dark, because the other children have a knack for leaving, erm, presents in uncivilized locations. Flashlights are scary, too. Let's just say it was a long day, in a school designed by morons.(Hey, they put all the thermostats directly under the skylights. Really.)

At home, there was another letter to go with the subpoena we received yesterday, both from Fair Coastal City District Court, commanding a certain Bastard McBastard III to appear in various official places. Seems young Bastard, former resident of our Hoose, is wanted as a witness in a criminal proceeding, and isn't paying his child support or obeying court orders. We've been getting Bastard's mail and summonses since the day after we closed in October, and I am heartily tired of him. The Samurai inquired, via telephone, and was told to send all the stuff back to the courthouse with a note explaining that the Bastard doesn't live here. I wrote a very official-sounding, bitchy letter. We'll see if they have the sense to find the Bastard and make him quit using our address.

Finally, I found another letter from the mortgage company, threatening to force us to pay double our current homeowners insurance premium for "assigned" insurance, because they have no record of our policy. Now, I got our current policy FOR them; their address appears at the top of the page. THEY pay the premiums, too, from our mortgage payment. I know this because my insurance agent told me that, yes, indeed, the mortgage company is paying them, and they haven't cancelled our insurance, as the mortgage co. claims. I also spoke to someone at Stoopid Mortgages R Us about this already, waay back in March, when I got the first letter. I called the stoopid mortgage peeples again today, and they played dumb. I laid it all out again, and they promised to take care of it. I was a bit, um, upset. I think I scared the poor gal I spoke with. If they try to charge me for any insurance I don't need, they'll be talkin' to a lawyer.

Yup. Today was Clobberin' Time, all right. (It also happens to be Comic Book Day, and Ultimate Fantastic Four was excellent! The Ever-Lovin', Blue-Eyed Thing is such a bodacious character.)

previous - next




Diaryland