Blossoms and Snot
2005-04-03 7:37 p.m.

Spent all of Friday night and Saturday prone in bed, trying to transform myself into the Fever-ridden, Gacking, Hideous Snot Monster. I killed off lotsa kleenex, but as of today, I am still, miraculously, something passably human. Drat. Another sci-fi movie experience deferred.

Today, the Samurai dragged my disease-raddled carcass to Redwing Park for the first Cherry Blossom Festival ever to be held in Our Fair Coastal City. It was chilly and windy, but the koto players were amazing, and the iaido (sword-drawing) demonstration at the end, done in front of the Japanese garden's torii gate to a koto solo, was mesmerizing. The tiny pink meringue cookies were good, too.

In exchange for supporting yet another of Sensei's endless parade of activities, the Samurai became my mulch monkey for the afternoon. We finished the front flower bed, which looks very sweet. Once those impatiens start to grow, it will be spectacular. The azaleas and bleeding hearts will be best next spring. I am looking forward to years of blossoms! I also started lopping shrubs. We have an odd, invasive plant cropping up everywhere. I think I need to lop them off, then hit them with Roundup. We still have another boxwood to chop up and more liriope to shear, and clematis to plant near the mailbox. I think I can keep busy every day after school from now until June.

Speaking of school--only ten more weeks, starting tomorrow! Woohoo!

previous - next




Diaryland