Where ya been, Cait?
2005-01-31 10:03 a.m.

I am waiting for the plumber. I will not call and demand to know where she is. I will be patient. I have to be at school by 12. I will be patient.

What, you ask, have EduCait and the Samurai been doing here in the Castle of Coolness? Well, leetle EduCait fans, it's been a busy, busy week! (It was exam week and semester grade week, oh joy.)

First, we had Dryer Duct Guys here. They stuck a teeny video camera both ways into the duct, and discovered thar it was thirty feet (yes, it's a long run through the crawl space) of corrugated plastic dryer hose, full of water and a dead mouse (!???) at the bend. Verrry bad. They are coming to build a proper vent tomorrow. This will cure 1/2 of the moisture issue in the garage.

Next. we noticed a water dribble at the base of the wall behind the washer. Uh-oh. Home Warranty folks are sending plumber today. Hope it's just a pipe and not a crawl space drainage issue. Pipe cheap, crawl space not covered by warranty.

On Saturday, as I was about to leave for Inter-Baronial 12th Night, I took Casey out back. The heat pump kicked on, and went SQUUUeealll! Then, POOM! a cloud of bluish smoke erupted from the unit. We were both impressed. After this display of pique, the unit hummed along merrily. I called the warranty company, and they labeled the sitch "bad." Heat pump guys are supposed to call today. Yes, it's covered by the warranty. Damn, I'm glad we have that thing.

IB 12 was lovely, as sweet Kelly-the-former-student-now-a-teacher went with me. I nearly ran off the road when she told me she just turned 30! We had fun sitting at the teacher's table with Elaine and Evja's wonderful mom, Aurora. Saw lots of His Highness, who is, as ever, cute as a button. Had fun with everyone, but didn't see nearly enough of Hrothny. She made my day, though, pointing at random to the trim I made her (not knowing what it was) and saying, "Hey! That's the Mammen trim!" Indeed it is, and to have an expert recognize it immediately means I got it right! Yay! Now I'll finish it! (I was scairt that it sucked, before.)

We've had lotsa fun visits, too, from Alexis and Cartallo, and Mel the Taller, and my pal Kat from church. The Castle of Coolness feels more like a home, now that we've entertained here! I must start doing UFO nights on Fridays. Kelly wants to do more garb, Hrothny needs to get out, and I'm sitting in this hoose all alone every Friday. If nobody comes to keep me busy, Casey and I will watch "What Not to Wear" and doze. Boooo-rrring!

Hey, wouldn't it be fun to do Medieval "What Not to Wear"? Hmmm. I smell a parody entry coming on. Watch this space. (Not now! Go away now! Come back, like, tomorrow!)

previous - next




Diaryland