Better Day
2005-01-21 5:52 p.m.

Gee, Rose, thanks for the encouraging words. You really made my afternoon!

I know yesterday's entry was alarming, since I am usually a glass-half-full sorta gal. I am somewhat better today, even though the snow didn't stick to our roads and we had to go to school. Several things made me significantly happier.

Thing 1: Six little 6th grade boys got in big trouble for having a penmanship competition at the bus stop this morning. Seems the "pens" were little pink soldiers in turtle helmets, and the "ink" was yellow and homemade. Snow is a tempting blank canvas, indeed. Laughed my whatsis off over that one.

Thing 2: One of several kids in my core who live in the halfway house in our vicinity gets to go home next week. She is sad, because she loves our school and loves us. She's a sweet, defensive, much-abused kid with a sharp mind and a tender heart. I wish I could keep her. She deserves better than her real mom--who couldn't be bothered to remember her birthday last week. Her teachers got her a card and a sweatshirt, because she's always cold. I'm going to make sure she knows how to reach us, so we can find out how she's doing. I might get her a going-away gift, too.

Thing 3: My principal took me aside to tell me that she really appreciated my honesty on Wednesday, and she's going to declare our planning bells "off limits" for meetings and such. I told her that we will kiss her feet! This will raise morale immensely, just because she'll be recognizing the value of the work we do during our planning time. She is a good lady. We're lucky to have her.

Thing 4: Spinedoc and Bruce are with the Samurai for his long, icy trip to Franklin tonight. I feel better when he has company, and the Spinedoc is a reassuring sort of fellow.

Thing 5: My Casey dog loves me. He loves me soooo much that he woofs at me if I stop petting him for too long. (I'm usin' my foot right now.) He wants to keep my feet warm. What a good doggie.

Thing 6: Alexis and Cartallo are coming to visit tomorrow! Woohoo!

Have a warm weekend, y'all!

previous - next




Diaryland