The Samurai and a Buncha Wimmen Covered in Creme Brulee
2004-11-10 10:22 p.m.

Okay, I'm s'posed to be doing grades, but this is waaay more funner. Besides, Thjora gave me a lead-in.

So, what did we do this weekend? Home improvement, what else?

Last Thursday, Thjora swept into town like some Norse Goddess of Domicilary Delight. I was so glad to see her, I could have kissed her fashion-booted feet. We were feeling a bit overwhelmed.

She got the wallpaper off in the bathroom, but found many, icky layers of paint beneath. Oooky. Scraaape, scraaaaape, scraaape.

We hit Home Despot Friday, and bought lotsa good stuff. New vent/filter doobuses, for one. Big improvement in air quality and lessening of funky house odor for a tiny bit of dough.

Thjora and I caulked like mad cake decorators Friday night. No one ever caulked any woodwork in our poor hoose. As of yesterday, we've used nine tubes of caulk.

Up early Saturday, back to Home Despot, and paint was purchased. Castle Stone, Creme Brulee, Silver Mist, and Powdered Snow. Yummy, no? We had help rolling on the Creme Brulee in the bedrooms, but I still ended up wearing a lot of it. It looks great, especially with shiny new Powdered Snow trim.

Thjora also braved the extension ladder to cut in the vaulted walls in the kitchen/family room. She's my hero! I don't think I'd still be sane without her. Did I mention yet another trip to Home Despot for MORE paint on Sunday morning? She got me through that with a trip to Starbuck's for my first gingerbread latte of the season. Smart friend!

I spent the day at the house yesterday, working and waiting for various repair dudes. Casey was thrilled to be there with me. His squirrels missed him. I got the loft cleaned up, trim fixed, caulking and ceiling touch-up done, and cutting in finished. Got the crusty kitchen cabinets scrubbed, too. Still have to roll all that wall space tomorrow.

The bad stuff from yesterday? Well, the air conditioner was installed by blind lobotomized murchuks from planet Noodlehead, apparently. It's gonna have to come out and go back in correctly. The stove issues are from a bad plug on the cooktop, easily fixable. The counters are gonna be gawgeous, and reasonable.

Oh, and we definitely have mice. One stuck his wee nosie out to look at me up in Manland, then eeped and ran away. Casey might be getting a cat for Christmas, after all.

Our next-door neighbor tells me our house has had at least ten owners. Shame none of them knew anything about caring for houses.

On my way home from class this evening, I stopped at the house to admire the Samurai's latest handiwork: a shiny, new, black mailbox, perched atop a snowy white post. No more hoopdey-gangsta-spray-tagged-crip-box! Yay!

I pity the fool what messes with our new mailbox.

More PAINTING tomorrow. Followed by PAINTING. And did I mention PAINTING? I just love PAINTING!

previous - next




Diaryland