Baby Independence Day!
2004-07-05 2:33 p.m.

I spent my Fourth of July weekend buried in tiny Americans.

First, Saturday was spent with the Spinedoc (aka Effing Nick), Larrissa, and wee lovely baby Taylor. What a sweet child! I'm going to try to teach her to say "Effing Daddy" when they move back to our area in October. Poor Nick. Heh heh.

Sunday, I did nursery duty at church. Our church is full of babies, toddlers, and pregnant women. (I don't drink the water!) Each community group takes a turn at nursery duty, say, every seven weeks or so. The cool thing about this is that most of the adults in the church know most of the kids by name.

So, yesterday was our group's day. The Samurai escaped, but I stayed, happily ensconced on the floor in a pile of infants. Did I mention that we meet in a school? Or that the "nursery" is a hallway blocked by a sofa? It's actually not too bad. We put down play mats and toys, and we have comfy chairs and baby seats/swings for sleepy little ones. We had five adults and eleven babies. Most of the infants were crawlers, with two able to walk a bit. They played happily until one finally got tired and howled. That set the others off, and at one point, each adult was cuddling two babies while the lone non-howler, little Jackson, goggled at us all, as if astonished by his infant colleagues' odd behavior. Three of the wee ones went to sleep, and the rest of us kept playing. We survived the hour-and-a-half church service with only one stinky diaper and generally happy babies. I put two to sleep just by holding them; I think it's my pheromones, or something.

So, after church, we went to see my brother and his family. Nephew Alex was a cuddle bug, so we got lots of hugs and kisses. Kim fed us yummy ribs and angel food cake. What fun!

When we returned home, Casey the Wonder Borkia soundly fussed us out for leaving him. He's feeling pretty peppy on his thyroid meds, losing weight and gaining, um, personality. He's demanding lots of attention, especially ear scratches and chew-toy wrasslin'.

Must go to the grocery store today. Wonder what to have for dinner?

previous - next




Diaryland