Big Mouth
2004-05-18 11:01 p.m.

I am proud of my 8th grade rabble--err, students. Really, I am!

They have learned to knock out a pretty good five-paragraph essay. Now, I don't consider 5pSAs to be High Art or anything, but they are useful in teaching non-reasoning beings (8th graders) to think logically and express themselves in ways that make sense to other, more evolved beings (like 9th graders.) My kiddos have worked hard over the last week, so I'm pleased.

On the other hand, I have 16 kids failing my class as of progress report time this nine weeks. This is mostly attributable to lack of homework, but I don't get it, because my homework is pretty fun. (Hey, you'd do the "figure out which of these urban legends are true?" assignment, wouldn't you?)

We've got drama this week, too. Two of my little girls turn out to be "cutters" who have been self-mutilating at school. My little sexual predator is worried about passing for the year, and is having other issues. My twitchiest, most hyper kid is terrified that I'll call his stepdad if he can't calm down, because my calls get him roughed up. Yes, I talked with social services. They've been out there four times in two years.

Fianlly, I barked at a *tiny* 7th grade boy today to stop throwing roundhouse kicks in the hallway.

He came back with, "Who you talkin' to, BITCH?"

I replied, calmly,"A very stupid little boy." As I wrote out his referral to the office, I told him all about how much he'd enjoy my English class next year, and how much I would enjoy my conversation with his mom. Nice lady; she promised me that he'd regret his big mouth a few seconds after she picked him up early from school. She thought it was really funny that I'd already made him cry by promising to get him into my class next year. Poor little dude.

I really am a mean old lady. Heh.

(And, yes, Rosine, I was a bad kid, but I didn't get caught. Skinny dipping-check! Underage drinking-check! Strip Monopoly-I won!)

previous - next




Diaryland