Casey the Pony Cat
2004-05-02 4:58 p.m.

Casey wants a cat.

I think he misses Loki, the Blackbear's punk cat, who used to wash his ears. Casey has made friendly noises at our neighbor's ubiquitous cats (who kept turning up on our balcony) for months, only to be rebuffed with hissing and spitting. He finally won Meeko over, after lots of tragic looks and hurt-feelings noises. He's recently taken to searching for "his" kitties every time he goes out.

Now the neighbor kitties have moved. Casey looked for them this moring, then gave me a "what did you do with them?" look.

He keeps begging for a kitten.

Casey, I tell him, we're allergic to kitties.

But we'll get a non-sneezy one! he says. I'll take care of it. I promise. Pleeeeze?

No, Casey. No kitties. None.

Whinne. (A Wonder Borkita whine is a truly sorrowful thing.)

Maybe I can find a DVD that's nothing but cats, just to keep him happy. He already loves horseys on TV. He watched the Derby with me yesterday (I think it was the announcer's excited tone that got him interested), and he likes to watch Animal Planet shows with horses on them. He likes westerns, too. He might not be a dog at all. He could be part pony, part cat. He's pony-sized, and sorta pinto. He washes his face like a cat--y'know, lick paw, rub over face, clean paw, repeat.

Hmmm.

previous - next




Diaryland