Mizzable
2004-03-26 8:48 p.m.

Today was Stupid Person Day at school.

This morning, I got TWO emails from the same parent, both sent before 6:o'dark-thirty . They both said basically the same thing, but different ways.

"My son Kelly has doctor today. Need makeup test, class, homework? Can he get it.

Thank."

Yes, they named the poor kid (not his real name, BTW) a girl name. No, his mama isn't a furriner; she's a reg'lar ole Murcan. She asked me about today's doc appointment IN PERSON on Wednesday, when she came to get poor Kelly for a dental appointment. I told her then that he could make up today's test on Monday, and there would be no homework. These same two pieces of info have been on our HW recording all week, as well, and I know these folks check it every night. In addition, it's all been in Kelly's planner since Monday. I make all my kiddos write down HW for the whole week . So why am I getting badly written email before I've had coffee? Grrr.

Next, I have to deal with what happens whenever I give a test. This one has been on the radar for two weeks. It's on the novel we just read.Here's what I heard ALL DAY LONG:

"Test? What test?"

"Is it on that book we read?"

"Do I HAVE to use pencil?"

"Why can't I ask Joe for help? I don't get it!"

This last was from a child who cheats all the damn time. Today, she was up front, surrounded by kids who had Form A of my test, while she had Form B. Shoulda let her cheat.

And, finally, we have the fake office referral written by several hands that I took from the kid whose name appears on the form, in her own highly identifiable handwriting. It has a nice imitation of my signature at the bottom, and purports to be in response to this student's "disobedience" for refusing to perform a sex act with me. Of course, it's obvious that I didn't write it, but I was way damn mad when I found this thing being circulated in my classroom. Spent a while with my assistant principal, trying to find out who all was involved. Made it clear to the kid that she had made a grave mistake in slandering me. She might come clean on Monday; she cried a lot when I told her that I couldn't trust her anymore.

Then, to cap it all off, spent a half hour listening to a colleague rant about our administration's refusal to support her, even though she was physically battered by a student on Tuesday. The claim is that there are "no credible witnesses" (only her whole class!) and that she can't press charges. She's not hurt, but she won't turn her back on her kids. No more fun group stuff will happen in her room this year. I'm horrified.

And, yes, I teach in a really, really good school! I feel the need to stay very far away from teenagers this weekend.

Guess I'll go play with Casey. The Wonder Borkita was actually frisky today! We played "gimme that chew toy" and a very slow version of "fetch" today. He's exhausted now. He's watching "Reign of Fire" and enjoying the dragon noises.

Off to eat pizza and be less miserable. I didn't mention the migraine, did I?

previous - next




Diaryland