Throw me to the dogs!
2004-01-21 12:00 a.m.

I've finally figured out why I love dogs so much.

I rolled around on the floor with three sweet doggies yesterday: Sarah, the Chocolate Moose, er, Lab; Baron, Mr. Big Black Soft Fluffy Cuddle Dog, and Daisy the Stupid Basset Hound. They all can read, and I have "Dog Toy" printed on my forehead. I scratched ears and bellies, got doggie kisses, and wished I had three hands instead of two so no one would have to wait for petting. All they wanted from me was affection. I had no food for them, and they'd already been outside, so I offered them no advantage, just companionship and love.

By contrast, I subject myself daily to a plethora of folks who want me to do the impossible, and do it five minutes ago. They want me to kill myself doing my stupid job, and basically suck me dry. After spending my day arguing with kids about why bibliographies MUST be done a certain way, telling my principal that I won't put up with kids shoving each other in my room, and explaining to parents that I can't really spend class time on group paper revision right now because we're being fussed out for already being a week behind the official pacing chart, then checking my e-mail and voice mail for more comments/complaints/requests from still more parents/administrators/coordinators...I wanna go work in a kennel!

At least dogs love me back!

previous - next




Diaryland