Scary Old Lady
2003-12-06 3:25 p.m.

Wow! It's been a while since I wrote anything. I guess I've been busy.

Thanksgiving was an utter delight. I'm honored to be invited to Corby's Annual Attempt to Cook One Of Every Kind of Critter fest. This year, it was roast turkey, smoked turkey, roast pork, and salmon. Next year, I'll fetch him a mess of frog legs and see what he does with them. (Uh-oh...I may just have gotten myself disinvited...um, just kidding, Thjora! Really!)

This week has flown by. I've been Christmas shopping, doing grades, planning, all kinds of stuff, in anticipation of having my heart fixed on Tuesday. Yesterday, I got the go light from my regular cardiologist. I'll be at the hospital all day Tuesday, but I'll be home by suppertime. I expect I'll be bored and restless by Wednesday night. I have a pile of DVDs, books, and embroidery projects to keep me still. I'll probably send lots of e-mails, too, but I won't be talking much, because the ultrasound part of the procedure will make my throat sore for a few days.

This week's superpower for Educait seems to be the Ability to Embarrass Teenage Boys. See, last Saturday, I was in Target, shopping away, when I spied a weedy-looking seventeen-ish lad trying hard to be a Scary Goth. He wore a floor-length neoprene coat, lots of spikes and chains, several safety pins in odd locations, and lots of eyeliner. Somehow, despite the getup, he still seemed very cute and innocent. When he glared at me, I couldn't help myself. I GIGGLED, and gave him my"Aren't you precious?" look. He practically sprinted away from me, startling other shoppers who were obviously intimidated by him. He was just adorable, I tell you!

Then yesterday, I go get lunch after my doctor visit at the same time that a herd of lanky high-schoolers descend upon the deli I've selected. Several of them sport full, bushy, untrimmed beards, which I admire. Questioning the lads reveals that this is a new trend at their high school (my alma mater.) Too late, I realize that a few of them have no facial hair...because they can't grow any yet. Ooops. Faux pas. I embarrassed them. I felt so bad. They were all very polite fellows, if a bit towering.

Sigh. I guess I'm just turning into the quintessential odd old lady.

Question for y'all: how does one convince a Samurai that doing dishes is an honorable pursuit?

On de Headbone:Spies, Coldplay

previous - next




Diaryland