Barony by the Sea
2003-11-23 11:34 p.m.

I had every intention of being ahead of the game this week.

I carefully planned all my lessons so that I'd be giving a test right before Thanksgiving, which I could grade over TG weekend. This way, I'd have a nice representation of a variety of tasks on my Dec. 3rd progress reports. Problem is, we have to get our PR stuff in by THIS Weds. for processing in our nifty new system. Admin told us this on Friday. Oh, crap.

I was going to have Blackbear's new G63 done on Tuesday, but I didn't get to work on it until Friday night. I finished it before Gen and Alan arrived, but they found me working on another crackhead project, painted boxes for my Baronesses. Got those done around 2, with sweet Gen supplying perky conversation to keep me going.

Saturday, Marinus Investiture Day dawned bright and clear. Temperature in the low 70s, nice breeze. Gorgeous. Her Most Radiant Majesty, Queen Kyneburh, released Baron ArnBiorn and Baroness Rosine from their labors, and I teared up. They are responsible, quite directly, for keeping me in the SCA after Myles' suicide. After that, the SCA was, to me, a hollow lie. I was shattered. Rosine, especially, lured me back with gentle fun and tasks that made me feel needed. I actually enjoyed Saturday, and it's mostly because of her. Thank you, noble friend!

The event itself was tremendous fun. Sir Aradd amazed me, fighting on despite his owie tooth. Seeing beloved friends was delightful. Watching the Buffalo Gal experience her first SCA event was tremendous. Master Alan and Baron Alejandro helped make her day special, with their courtesy and humor. Seeing our Marinus Teen Titans get AoAs was super. Serving feast was funny, in retrospect; Brigit and I were difficult, I'm afaid, but our little server's rebellion was justified, and we did a better job than our hall steward though we could. I love doing things like serving feast, or trolling, where I get to interact with lots of people. I ended up tired and migraine-y, but Zomig and generous houseguests helped me rest.

Today has been filled with more good company, delicious sushi served by an adorable Okinawan oba-chan, and THREE washerloads of wet gis from my poor Samurai, who spent his weekend at martial arts camp. Now what I wanna know is whose strapless bra that is in his gi bag!

Best line heard this weekend: "Excuse me, but there's a spider on your boob."

Line I'm tired of already:"Suck it up, cupcake!"

I miss: Kiri, Philip, Corby,Thjora, Theo, and Roland. Wish they could have been here.

VERY best thing I got this weekend: Casey kisses! I love the granddog.

previous - next




Diaryland