Fun and Fairies
2003-11-18 11:09 p.m.

I am well and truly exhausted from way too much fun this weekend. Hanging out with my household and new sibs in Dun Carraig was the bestest, even if I only managed a fleeting conversation with the ever-radiant AoD. Seeing Sir Thorvald was, as always, an enormous treat. My cheerfulness is always recharged after seeing him. Rose and Adenwald spoiled us, and Mr. Samurai got introduced to Beyblades by Ethan, AKA Adenwald's Little Clone.

Last night, my house was overrun with younguns, as Blackbear, Vlad, Evja, and the Buffalo Gal descended en masse. Much, much fun.

Today, I'm tired from teaching the monkeys how to tell if a poem has meter. It's entertaining to stomp around the room using "One Fish, Two Fish" as your cadence, but tiring and hard on the ole dawgs. Tomorrow, the wee boogers are on their own, as I will cut them loose in pairs and make them (gasp!) APPLY what they've learned.

I agree with Hun-E-B about the importance of play, which is why we play so much in my classroom. I have loads of fun! I had 'em going for a while, too, when I told 'em how the Quiz Fairies migrate north each fall to Princeton, where they spend the winter writing SAT questions. On the way, teachers on the Eastern Seaboard lure the fairies to halt and create tests and quizzes by leaving offerings of chocolate out at night. If you see a Quiz Fairy, she'll be sallow of complexion, fanged, and red-eyed, wearing a ragged college sweatshirt over her tattered poison-green tutu. I don't recommend talking to them. They love impossible logic puzzles.

On de Headbone: Nick Drake, Parasite.

previous - next




Diaryland