Bards
2003-10-29 7:00 p.m.

Dangit, Rosine, you went and made me think! Now I have to write about something other than dog poop!

I second your approval of John Denver. I always loved the clarity of his voice. I used to sing "Annie's Song" to my baby brother, and he loved it. I was fortunate enough to see Mr. Denver in concert once, and he proved to be a consummate musician and fine entertainer.

I miss lots of departed musicians; I guess that's one of the hazards of middle age. I saw Harry Chapin in concert four days before his fatal auto accident. Count Basie's orchestra rocked my world when I was eighteen, and he was in a wheelchair, still tickling the ivories.. Rosine probably remembers the Chieftains at the Amphitheater; the Samurai agreed to take me because I wanted to see them before someone died, and Derek Bell obliged me by passing away last year. I cried all the way home when George Harrison left us, and I still remember mourning John Lennon years ago with my dad.

My father is a musician. He taught at the Navy School of Music for decades, and he still plays percussion and violin, arranges music for the community orchestra he conducts, and plays in a handbell choir at church. (A MARCHING handbell choir, no less!) I grew up surrounded by music and musicians, and learned early to revere fine music and the hearts,hands, and throats that made it.

Here's to the bards!

previous - next




Diaryland