No More War!
2003-08-05 7:25 p.m.

All right. I'll confess.

I have absolutely no desire to be at Pennsic right now.

Yes, I know my Peers are getting handfasted, and that Hillie and Rick are here from Alaska, and that all the Really Kewl folks are there.

I've been to Pennsic three times in the last 21 years. I camped with nice folks, was reasonably comfy and well-fed, and didn't really experience any major trauma EXCEPT...

Head-Burster Migraines. I don't know what weird confluence of barometric pressure, temperature, and elevation does it, but I have had three of the worst migraines in my migraine-plagued life during Pennsic. The only thing that kept me from murdering someone at my last War was a big bottle of very potent migraine meds.

I can't take anything but Tylenol now, thanks to strokes and blood thinners. Can you picture Mad EduCait, face drawn in a horrible rictus of pain, skinning every doumbek player at the War using only a plastic spork from the Mickey D's in Cranberry? And there's no telling what I'd do to the folks who like to play movie-soundtrack music loudly at 6 AM every day.

Pennsic is just too target-rich for migraine madness to be a wise idea. I think I'll pass until next year, when my heart is all repaired and I can show up with the whole freakin' pharmacy. Then I can tra-la-la through War, and the Pain. Until then,y'all have fun. I'll be home, where it's dark and there are no doumbeks.

On the Headbone: X-Files Theme

previous - next




Diaryland