TEE
2003-07-23 12:37 a.m.

So, today was scary invasive medical crap day for the Educait.

You must understand, though I've had strokes, I've never really been subjected to more than the ER treatment, which is a CT scan, EKG, and an aspirin. Really. You get an MRI later, but that's no big deal, either.

Yeah, I'm a girl, so I've had a full scale pelvic/PAP smear deal every year, but that's not so bad. Used to it. Only times I've had trouble with GYN doctors involved the one I stopped in mid-exam (he took 45 minutes, clearly didn't know what he was doing, so he got the boot-"You're done! Lookout, I might kick ya!") and the one who was a dead-on twin for Diccon. (I love ya, Diccon, but not *that* way.)

So, today was an IV/heart monitor/sedation kind of thing. Cait no like. No intubation, thank God, but still no fun. What does Cait do when she's stressed?

You got it; silly Cait. I got in trouble for telling dirty jokes to the nurses and med student. Of course, I stopped once the sedatives kicked in. I'm told I was conscious the whole time. I don't remember any of the actual TEE. I just remember my throat hurting a LOT (still does) and seeing the Samurai swim towards me, concerned. For an hour or so, everybody seemed to be swimming. Wheee.

Slept a LOT when I got home, and now I'm mostly just cantankerous. My cardio doc is now convinced that I have a defect that *could* be repaired, but he's still not sure if it *should* be. Sigh. At least, if they do fix it, it won't be any worse than today's stuff was. If the med student is right, there'll be less pain involved, and more happy juice.

Tomorrow I'm off to another mandatory teacher class, this one on Literature Circles.

I'll try not to get hit by buses, nibbled by fishes, or whacked by men with silver sticks. Damn, my friends here in D-land are a dangerous bunch!

On de Headbone: Maxwell's Silver Hammer, the Beatles

Read last nigt: Global Frequency, Warren Ellis. Excellent comic, no SPBs, just people.

previous - next




Diaryland