Colors
2003-07-19 2:37 p.m.

Wow, am I ever depressed. Can't seem to get anything done, unless I'm at Rosine's and she's chattering brightly. (Always soothing!) Tired of doctors, tired of testing, tired of waiting. Bah!

So, here's what Educait thinks about while she's in yet another waiting room: colors.

Thjora has heard this rant, but I have serious problems with the overpaid nitwits who think of color names to be used in retail. Yesterday, an ad in the paper listed "yukata beige" as a color choice for one's new rib-knit top. Those of you who know Japanese costume know that yukata are cotton summer kimono, usually colorful, almost always involving an indigo blue/white combination. So what color is "yukata beige"? Muddy blue? Tan with azure swirls? Gack!

Another choice was "mirage." Does the color disappear when you get close enough?

For further inspiration, I opened a catalogue:

"Vintage green." How do I know it's not "antique green," "elderly spruce," or "recycled 7up bottle"?

"Coral reef." WTF? Is it blue? Green? Orange? Is it like "canyon orange"?

"Dark sunburst." Huh? Black-hole colored clothes?

"Wineberry." What, exactly, is a wine berry? A grape? Then isn't this purple?

Are "flag blue" and "admiral blue" relatives of navy blue?

I could go on: this is one of the more sensible catalogues. Some of them are totally crackers. Colors like "paella" and "marzipan." Yeesh.

Don't even get me started on makeup color names. My current favorite lipsticks are "Boy Crazy" and "Dazzling Iris."

Reading: Harry Potter 5, which is giving me nightmares about my first year teaching. More on that anon.

On de Headbone: Iris, GooGoo Dolls

previous - next




Diaryland