Noun Claws
2003-07-17 8:20 p.m.

Today I had to take a REQUIRED FOUR-HOUR class in sentence diagramming. It was actually fun, but I thought about some stuff on the way there (long drive, as I don't live in the city where I teach) and during the slow bits.

I think I must be getting old, because a lot of my favorite musicians are pushin' up daisies. I heard Queen on the radio today, thought of Taffy, and wished Freddy Mercury's angelic voice were still with us. Then I started missing Stevie Ray Vaughn's sinewy guitar, Joe Strummer's hoarse rasp, Janis Joplin's wail, Ben Orr's sweet baritone...I could go on forever. Sigh. So much talent gone.

Then I started thinking about how I would go about establishing a Musical Celebrity Breeding Program, to replenish things a bit. (Hey, if Julie Cypher and Melissa Etheridge can use David Crosby to sire their kids, why not?)

Possible dream pairings:

Tori Amos and Ray Charles

Bonnie Raitt and Stevie Ray

Joe Strummer and Chryssie Hynde

Yeah, it's kinda sick, but wouldn't we get some prodigies?

(You'd rather hear about sentence diagrams, wouldn't you?)

Must go do Pennsic sewing, and I'm not even going to Pennsic!

BTW, how come nobody ever asks Rosine and me any questions? I think her feelings are a bit hurt. Me, I'm content to watch the other kids play while I do my own thing.

On the Headbone Radio: Brown-Eyed Girl, Van Morrison

Now reading: Harry Potter 5, finally!

previous - next




Diaryland