Another Wedding
2003-07-13 1:37 a.m.

Yeah, I know, I oughta be in bed.

It's been a busy few days. Thursday, we reconnected with our dear friends Lark and Hercules. She's a poet, one of the finest I've ever seen, and he's a wrestler, teacher, and all-around good guy. They brought their delightful offspring to see us, too. Like many folks we love, they have reproduced themselves, in miniature. Since the Samurai and I both adore kids, we had a blast, especially playing never-ending Uno. I'll have to write more about the conversation Lark and I had about writing when my brain is less crunchy.

Yesterday, I spent the morning exploring craft stores with Rosine, who really needed to get out of the house. I can't wait until she's all healed again, and we can get into serious troub---er, do more fun stuff together. She tends to make me want to do more good SCA projects, and she's very clever about tempting me to volunteer for stuff. Sneaky Baroness.

The Samurai took me to see LXG last night. Cool, but grossly improbable. Go prepared to suspend disbelief. Superb acting, though, especially from Jekyll/Hyde.

Tonight was ANOTHER wedding. Silly younguns, gettin' all married and such. We were, yet again, somewhere between the parents' ages and the nuptial couple's. I wore non-trailer clothes, like a good matronly type, but the Samurai and I blew our cover when the DJ played the Romantics. Beneath the genteel exterior of this middle-class couple lurks a pair of old-school New Wave wackos. We can still thrash around a bit; we just need more rest afterwards. Our younger friends were rendered speechless.

I cry at all weddings these days, partly because I'm afraid for these youngsters. Marriage is good, but it can be very, very hard, too. I had no idea how difficult it would be when I married the Samurai. I can't imagine life without him, but sometimes we are hard on each other. We've learned a lot about how to get through the tough times, but I'm always afraid for the newlyweds. I want to tell them not to ever give up on each other, but I don't want to scare them. They wouldn't understand what I mean, anyway. They have to discover it for themselves.

Still, it was a lovely wedding, complete with airy bubbles, schmaltzy melodies, and the tinkling of tiny bells!

On the Headbone: Come What May, from Moulin Rouge

previous - next




Diaryland