Ye Olde Phartes Convene
2003-07-09 12:09 a.m.

During the 4th of July weekend, I was struck by how much we learn about our friends from their dogs.

At Genie's, we got to see four canine pals: leggy, sweet, red-brown Sarah, scrappy Connor with his wiry black hair and bushy eyebrows, energetic Zephyr with her beautiful eyes, and Solo, the most contradictory dog alive. (Looks like a hassock, acts like a chihuahua.) You owners, you know who you are; your pups are practically mirrors! (For that matter, Junior had our measure, too. I miss him.)

Well, I promised to tell you about the Old Farts' Wild Night Out. On Saturday, we met up with Geoffrey (who has known me for 22 years) and Sieglinde (who has known me for 15), with daughter Becky; Rick (KMF 22 years) and Alesia (KMF 14 years), and Ro (KMF 20 years) and Richard (mercifully, KMF 5 years.)

I first met Geoffrey and Rick when I was brand new in the SCA, all of 18, and doing summer vacation in Marinus. They beat back the overzealous wolves...er, sailors, and made me feel welcome.

Sieglinde used to let me invade her kitchen with scribal stuff, cooks a mean feast, and created two of my favorite girls. She's sorely missed.

Alesia is a spirit full of grace and light. She leaves everyone who knows her better than she found them. I hope we have time to reconnect this summer.

Ro is special to me because I remember her as both the first and fifth Queen of Atlantia. (Aha! you say.) When she was Queen, she was so far beyond me in her bearing, garb, and poise that I'd always assumed she was older than me. Turns out we're the same age; she was only 18 when she was Queen! Thanks to Sieglinde, I've been granted the pleasure of Ro's company. I wish I had gotten to know her sooner.

A lot of Atlantian history sat at that table Saturday. The saddest part, for me, is that no one there, save myself and the Samurai, is active anymore. Various circumstances have taken priority, and the SCA is poorer for lacking these good folk.

On the other hand, I have been blessed by the SCA with these friends, who remain in my heart even though they've left the Society. One of the harder things about the SCA, for me, is the number of good friends, like these, that I've lost track of in 22 years. I'd love to see them all again, and to thank them for being who they are (or were.)

I've seen this expressed by many others in Diaryland,but I'll say it, too: for me, the SCA is about the special people who are attracted to this peculiar hobby.

On the Headbone: Tori Amos again!

Now re-reading: Matt Wagner's Mage: the Hero Discovered and Mage: the Hero Defined. Wish he'd write the 3rd part already!

Note to Bizarro: Got LXG, thanks, loved it. You ought to read Moore's work on Miracleman and Swamp Thing, from the mid-80's.

previous - next




Diaryland