Goth Barbie
2002-08-17 1:06 p.m.

Aaargh! I did this yesterday, but Diaryland ate it. Bah.

So, I went to Wallyworld t'other day. Saw many odd things.

In the toy department, I found the creepiest Barbie doll ever. She's labeled "Midnight Star Princess Barbie" or some such crapola, but she's really Goth Barbie. She's so pale she's almost blue. I have never seen such a Wondabread dolly. She has long jet-black hair, mondo makeup, and silver moony-starry jewelry. I want one, just so I can paint a little red dribble at the corner of her mouth. Vampire Barbie!

At the front checkout, they had service flags for windows. You saw these in "Saving Pvt. Ryan." You get a little flag with a blue star on it for every active-duty service member in your family. If they're killed in action, you paint the star gold. My grandma had one. Back in the '40's, this was a great idea. Now, I'm not so sure I'd want to advertise the absence of my husband (or wife.) There are nasty folks around here who prey on wives of guys who are deployed. Icky.

I've also concluded that NC is still requiring all its mental defectives to shop in VA, judging by the fine display of driving dysfunction put on by cars bearing NC plates.There are lots of cool people in NC, but none of 'em ever seem to turn up here.

Today's guilty pleasure: watching Buckaroo Banzai with the Samurai. A cult classic! Poor John Many Jars.

Song on De Headbone: Stormy Weather, Lena Horne. Watched this film during breakfast; a classic, with Fats Waller. Cab Calloway, and Bill "Bojangles" Robinson.

previous - next




Diaryland