The Bigger They Are, the Harder....
2002-07-16 1:53 a.m.

Rant time!

Talking with Rosine yesterday, something began to bug me. It bugs her, too. I think it bugs lots of women.

Why do some men, especially in the SCA, think it's okay to grab/hug/tackle women from behind, when we have no idea who's doing the touching?

Admittedly, there are some men who can do this to me without being sent flying over my head, but even then I don't *like* it. Something about it shows a certain disregard for the discomfort, both physical and mental, that being grabbed like this might cause a woman.

It's really a dominance game disguised as affection, and I *hate* dominance games.

Are these guys clueless? Are they just assholes who like to make women feel vulnerable and uncomfortable?

Here's a thought, fellas: no matter how friendly you are, no matter how much I love you, if you do this to me, or to any of the many women Frank and I have trained in self-defense, you will be thrown on the ground. If I'm at an event, surrounded by people, I'll be a little more secure, and I'll settle for lecturing you. Whatever you do, though, don't *ever* sneak up on me when I'm alone and bear-hug me (or any other woman). You'll frighten the lady in question, which isn't very nice...and if she's me, I'll break ribs first, and ask questions after I immobilize.

Rant over.

Grrrrrrrrrrr....

Book to read if you want a better dragon story than "Reign of Fire": The Hero and the Crown, by Robin McKinley

On the Headbone: Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da, the Beatles...I do not for the life of me know why.

previous - next




Diaryland