SOL hell
2002-05-22 8:18 p.m.

Next week, I'll be giving Virginia's famed SOL tests to my wee beasties.

Went to a test training session yesterday. Here are some highlights:

I am not allowed to look at the actual test questions. Apparently, I am so stupid that I will leak them all to the press or otherwise violate the security agreement I've signed. (Like I can afford to risk a $1000 fine and loss of my teaching license. Nosirrreebob!)

I am to vigilantly insure that the kiddos don't turn back to the previous day's test and change stuff. (But I can't look too closely, or I might see the actual questions.)

If I have kids in my class who have already passed the test, I have to give them busy work to do. The work cannot be related to the subject being tested that day.

In my afternoon classes on testing days, I'm not allowed to teach any stuff related to that day's test. (Yes, that's right, the test I can't look at. And my lesson plan has to be tied into the SOL objectives...which are what the test is all about. But I can't teach those on test days, even though I have to, because they might be on the test, but I can't be sure, because I'm not allowed to see it.)

I have to remove any materials, like posters, that might give the darlings hints. For some obscure reason, this includes the "Everything I Need To Know About Life I Learned From Star Trek" poster, and my two little studying monkeys.

I really, really, really hate testing. I wish they'd just let me give final exams, but I'm not allowed to do that.

Too stressful!

Bah!

previous - next




Diaryland