Sakura!
2002-04-01 12:13 p.m.

I love spring.

I actually love any change of seasons, because I love variety. I am easily bored.

The part of Chesapeake where we live is called Greenbrier. Years ago, it was a huge plant nursery. The whole parcel was sold to developers for a "planned community," which has turned out rather well. One thing the developers have tried to do is save as many of the original plantings as possible.

When Mitsubishi built in the Greenbrier parcel, they chose well. Their front drive passes through a small grove of mature cherry blossom trees. To enhance them, Mitsubishi lined all of the roads through their parcel with more cherry trees. Right now, it's a lovely, floating cloud of pale pink. I find the sight intoxicating.

If I go missing, I've been arrested for loitering dreamily on Mitsubishi property, gazing at the trees.Actually, I doubt they'd find me threatening, as I am just a meek little Brown-Haired Lady.

Gotta go sew; I loooove Spring Break!

Today's song: Morning Has Broken, Cat Stevens (or the new one I just got, the Chieftains, Art Garfunkel, and Diana Krall)

Today's book: Martin Pippin in the Apple Orchard by Eleanor Farjeon (who wrote the lyrics to the above song)

previous - next




Diaryland