Junior
2002-03-16 11:12 p.m.

I've been dreading this entry.

Junior is gone.

For those of you who never knew Junior, he was our crazy border collie-cocker spaniel doggie. He was with us for fourteen years, and he was a really, really good dog.

Frank brought him home from work one day.He'd been hanging around the parking lot, eating from the dumpster, and chasing cars. (Junior, not Frank.) I arrived home after school to find Kirsten waiting for me, but no Frank. My hubby was in the bathroom, bathing a very dirty little black-and-white dog. By the next morning, having melted my heart by putting his head on my knee and drenching me with brown-eyed-doggie love rays, he was a member of the family.

Junior looked a lot like the dogs in "Babe," only with floppier ears. He hated motorcycles and cats.(He barked ferociously at *pictures* of cats!) He loved watching TV, looking out windows, licking feet, and playing tug. He protected me fiercely, and followed us everywhere, herding us together whenever he could manage it.

He loved having SCA folks in the house. Galmr scared him by standing up, but he was a Favored Person when he stayed seated. Dafydd and Elizabeth were also FPs, as were Corby and Thjora, Fin and Heather, Heather's brother Alan, and Angharad. He'd recently become infatuated with Rosine and Kiri-dono. He never went to an event; he'd have come unglued with all the noise and people!

He died very quietly, with a vet who loved him administering anaesthetic and his people stroking his head. He was very old and tired; seizures and kidney failure made him slow and confused.

If there's a dog heaven, he's there, licking feet, chasing cats, shedding curly black hair everywhere, and eating all the popcorn he can hold.

I miss him terribly.

previous - next




Diaryland