Carnage!
2002-02-15 11:07 p.m.

If you ever want to suffer, try Valentine's Day in a middle school.

Poor darlings! The girls give each other cute stuffed animals and chocolate. The boys look stunned. Then, during seventh bell, the carnation-grams are distributed; you know, kid pays a buck, writes a message, and it gets attached to a pretty flower and delivered. Fun, huh?

Carnage!

Some kids get a PILE of flowres; others get one or two, but not from the right person. One of my girls got DUMPED by her boyfriend via carnation-gram. (Little goober needs to grow some you-knows, lemme tellya.) The tears and hormones just flowed.

Today, we had fallout. In EVERY bell, I had at least one kid weeping and one kid surly, angry, and generally incoherent. (Often, the weeper was male. Quite refreshing, really.)Everyone was hyper-sensitive; I had to be very careful with criticism today, and generally spent lots of time telling all my kids how great they are. 110 doses of validation, coming up! I'm sucked dry.

Then, this evening, I had the second installment of my Japanese Lit class, with an assortment of Very Surly Women. I get to spend all day with them tomorrow. We're now halfway through a film called "Tampopo"(sp?)-Dandelion-which basically seems to be about the perfect bowl of noodles, yakuza, sex, and cowboys. Sort of a ramen Western. Very odd. Great film to see if you really want to know about erotic tricks with eggyolks.

Today's tune: Dizz Knee Land, Dada

Today's Book: The Tale of Genji, Lady Murasaki

previous - next




Diaryland