Mrs. Average
2002-01-09 10:37 p.m.

I used to wish I were more exotic-looking. I'm not blonde like Thjora and Gen, or tall like Kevin. I'm not particularly extreme-looking in any way. I'm very average. People looking for me at an SCA event get frustrated. They say, "I'm trying to find a brown-haired lady, about 5'4" tall, average build." The person they've asked points wildly around the room at the 500 million Ubiquitous Brown-Haired Ladies. In modern life, too, there are many, many women who look like me. I once dated a guy who LOST me in movie theaters all the time, because I looked so much like all the other women there. (We know why he didn't last, don't we?) All of this used to bother me, but no more.

I've discovered the Power of Anonymity.

If I keep my mouth shut (this requires major will power), most people ignore me. I am Just Another Brown-Haired Lady. They start acting like I'm not there, and I hear some very interesting stuff. In the halls at school, at the mall, you name it. I look innocuous. People relax.

Why don't more spies look like me? Or criminals? Or terrorists? No one searches me at airports; I look like someone's English teacher. (Well, I am someone's English teacher.) Security guys at stores aren't bothered by me. Cops don't give me a second glance.I'm practically invisible!

On the other hand, once I open my mouth, I tend to become a bit more, er, memorable.

I'm married to an average-looking guy, too. You SCA folks know the type: the Bearded Balding Guy. We have lots of those, too. Fortunately, my average-looking guy like to wear yellow, red, and black samurai armor with spiders painted across his back. After the retinal after-image fades, most people remember Naro.

Maybe I need to make some orange garb?

Today's tune: Doctor Worm by They Might Be Giants. No, I don't know what it means. You tell me.

Today's book: Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer. If Harry Potter were an international crime lord, he'd be Artemis Fowl.

previous - next




Diaryland