Rain!
2001-12-11 2:31 p.m.

Today I was awakened by the pitterpat of raindrops on the roof. It was so strange to hear rain again that the sound woke me from a cold-medicine-induced stupor. It's been so dry in Virginia for so long, we forgot what rain was.

Had this conversation with Junior last night:

Me: Go on! Go outside and tinkle!

June-dog:No way! There's water fallin outta the sky! This is weird!

Me: Go on! Go!

June: I'd rather use the rug, Mom! Look, a bird! Look, a frog! Look, an empty plastic bag! (These last three sound like woofing to those who don't speak Dog.)

I am currently avoiding work. I have papers to grade and grades to calculate, so I can give Progress Reports tomorrow and ruin Christmas for most of my eighth graders. The stampede of parents returning X-Boxes and Gamecubes may lead to bankruptcy for ToysRUs. I love my kids, truly I do, but lately they are acting like a cross between Marauding Pirate Bandits and tree sloths. Yesterday, I had to endure being told how ugly I was, listening to them call each other names (which I will not offend you with-they don't deserve repetition), and break up a bout of titty-twister going on between some of my boys. (see who can take the most pain, as it were) These people are the hope for my future; I remind myself that fifteen years of teaching have shown me that even the most uncivilized, self-centered rapscallion can become a pretty decent adult. I have to take the long view. But the titty- twister has GOT to stop.

A note about my book recommendations: not all of these are for grown-ups. I read lots of kid-lit, from picture books on up. I'm not going to put age thingies on 'em; you can look them up on Amazon yourself!

Book for today: The Fellowship of the Ring by JRR Tolkien. I can't wait for Dec. 19th!

Song: Kidnap the Sandy Claws from The Nightmare Before Christmas soundtrack. Reflects my mood perfectly.

previous - next




Diaryland