WOO-WOO-WOO!
2006-08-03 1:25 p.m.

Okay, brace yourselves for more dog talk. I'm hoping you guys will have some advice for us, neophyte Neapolitan parents that we are.

First, adjusting is going well overall for Thor-boy. We're working out some doggie dominance issues, like getting out of Mom's way when she has grocery bags, and staying out of her face (literally) when she's typing.

He's got "sit" and "down" nailed. Does those great. We know we're going to have to work on "down-stay," "wait," and "enough." I have managed to teach Thor "beat it," "Scram," "desist," and "depart."

The BIG issue is the whole protective thing. Thor is pretty hyper-protective, especially of me. He's not aggressive--no lunging or snapping--just really barky over weird stuff. His bark is a HUGE, deep-chested WOO-WOO-WOO thing, so I'm sure the neighbors just *love* us right now. I don't mind if he barks at Bad Stuff, but he needs to learn what Bad Stuff is.

Currently, he barks at reflections (his, mine, Casey's, a tree's--if it's in a window or mirror, it's Bad.) I'm thinking of getting a cheap mirror for him to examine, so he can figure it out.

He also barks at ceiling fans, riniging telephones, the computer printer, my blow dryer, the dishwasher,the washing macine, the dryer, the radio, the barbecue grill, birds, and the TV. He's surrounded by Bad Stuff! WOO-WOO-woo!

Will this get better when he feels more secure? He's making me nuts!

previous - next




Diaryland