Red Wheelie Day
2006-07-08 10:49 p.m.

I am sooo tired, and a wee bit tipsy. (It takes only a single Woodchuck to get me sideways. I am unused to alcohol. Lighten up!) I have worked hard, and deserve a 'Chuck tonight.

Yesterday, I went shopping and ran errands--picked up contacts, got Wonder Borkita meds (he takes more pills than I do), went to credit union, etc. I stopped at one of those BigBox DIY Stores, the blue one, and found the lovely craftmanesque chandelier that the Samurai and I picked out together (and agreed upon!) on clearance for much less than the original price--so I bought it! I also bought a little red wheelbarrow, new edging for my shade garden, pebbles for around the deck, and a big ceramic basin for my artsy bird bath. Some plants also followed me home--two Lady in Red ferns, some portulaca grandiflora, and some nice big zinnias.(I heard that! Behave!)

I built my new wheelbarrow last night, and today I worked merrily in my garden while the Samurai was away tossing people in jammies around gyms.We have few cool days like today, so I had to get busy before we return to our regularly scheduled 96 F. I mowed, weedwhacked, weeded, and cleaned street-level gutters. Then, I planted the wonderful cuttings Flipper gave me from his garden, redid my biggest ceramic deck pot with the zinnias and portulaca, and repotted my baby echinacea. I used the new red wheelbarrow to haul bags o rocks and shoveled gravel under the deck and all around in the planting beds there. THEN I made my bird bath!

First, I leveled the chosen site, which can be seen from the kitchen window. (I really did use a level, too.) Then I used some of my weathered old brick collection to make a nice little interlocking chimney structure, about two feet high. I plopped my ceramic basin on top, filled with good old hose water and a mosquito dunk. Finally, I planted the ferns and some gomphrena around the base. I might add more flowers later. I like it! It's a tiny little water feature in my wee pocket paradise. Hope the birdies use it.

In preparation for removing the old front edging, I carefully scraped off all the lovely moss and moved it to shady spots around back. I hope it takes. Replacing those front stones will be tough, because the old ones are really in there solidly. I might not be up to it by tomorrow!

Two things I've enjoyed recently: Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle, and The Forty Year Old Virgin. Yup, summer is the time for screwball comedies and potty humor!

Off to watch a werewolf film with Chachi in it. No, really! Bite Chachi, Mr. Wolf! Get 'im! Grrrr! (No more cider for meeee!)

previous - next




Diaryland