Shakesbored
2006-06-28 12:11 a.m.

I'm extremely frustrated.

Cher and I are taking a Shakespeare class. It was billed as Shakespeare for them as don't like the Bard, which would fit Cher, but not me. I'm there for fun, moral support for my precious partner, and on the off chance that the prof might have some good stuff for me to add to my repertoire. Given that she comes from Ancient Kingdom U, I had high hopes.

Alas, I am disappointed! It seems the English Dept. at AKU sent the person who got the short straw. She's not thrilled about being here, in a FULL class of English teachers. She knows NOTHING about how or why we teach Shakespeare (info that she could easily have obtained from our coordinator--the rationale and pacing by year are all laid out). She's not very well prepared, either. Our class is from noon to five, for three days. Yawn! We need hands-on stuff, discussion, challenging activities to keep us awake and engage us. Instead, we got a long, dry lecture filled with mispronunciations and irrelevant trivia, but little useful information.

For a chaser, we watched "Much Ado About Nothing," which is terrific stuff. I'm sure she'll suck the life out of that tomorrow!

I'm going to go get Cher a copy of Joe Papp's book, Shakespeare Alive! Maybe I'll send one to this awful prof, too. I'm afraid that my Formidable gene will be dominant on Friday, when I do her evaluation.Grrr.

previous - next




Diaryland