Rain Casserole
2006-06-14 6:03 p.m.

The sea is trying to fall from the sky here in Our Fair Coastal City, courtesy of Mr. Tropical Depression. Wow. Lotsa water! Had a few anxious moments on the way home through my flood-prone neighborhood. I'm here now, and I ain't goin' nowhere.

I've been a crazy monkey for the last few days. I've been shagging textbooks around, using my Colossus muscles. Never fails--the book that gets miraculously "found" after locker cleanout is on the bottom of the fifty-book stack, numerically speaking. Good thing I'm strong.

I've also been finishing the paperback novel inventory. I have to list how many books we started with, how many are missing and their book numbers, how many were damaged/discarded and their book numbers, and the total number left. We have about fifty titles in 8th grade, ranging from 60 to 400 books per set. It's very, very tedious. It's also DONE. Woot!

I got the grades finished this afternoon, too, with a lot of help from Cher. I have a great partner. Still waiting for ISS work from the Empress (not my doing--she's been my Sweet Angel for two whole weeks now) and transfer grades for another kid. I'm supposed to get verified tomorrow at 8, but it might be closer to 9 or 10. We're handing back all the papers and folders, watching Shrek (part of our folklore unit, don'tcha know) and signing yearbooks. Should be fun! The eighth graders get very nostalgic and weepy on the last days.

Today, though, we had disaster at the last lunch of the year. (The next two days are half days--no lunch!) The kids threw strawberry milk (yes, it's pink!) and ketchup all over as they left the cafeteria. There was to be a special 8th grade "moving up" assembly on Friday, but it's canceled now. We lectured the kids on how their reps will follow them to high school, and let them know that they can spend time in ISS on the first day of 9th grade. Turns out the guilty monkeys were performing on camera, too, so about eight kids were nailed.

We're hoping our new (old) principal's influence will stop this sort of thing from happening next year. He has that effect. He's the best!

Gotta go invent a casserole from what's in the freezer. We're hungry, but we're not going out there!

previous - next




Diaryland