Power to the Washers!
2006-06-04 11:25 p.m.

Spent my weekend steam-cleaning the carpets (again) and power washing the front porch and sidewalk.

I like power washing!

Even though I was only using my brother Raj's relatively tame electric model (rather than the bodacious gas washer our neighbor David tried to lend me--too much power for one small woman!), I succeeded in blasting thirty years' worth of black crud off the porch and walkway. They both look much brighter and newer. I'm tempted to do the driveway now, as it looks really nasty next to the lovely clean sidewalk.

I'm gonna replace the mossy, disintegrating border bricks around the shade garden soon, too, and repoint the mortar in the front steps. The Hoose is looking pretty good right now.

On the sad side, it looks like the clematis doesn't like the spot where I planted her. If she survives the summer, I'll move her after she goes dormant for the winter. If I tried to transplant her now, I'd have to do a lot of damage getting her off the fence.

The coral honeysuckle, on the other hand, is taking over its side of the fence. It had quadrupled in size since I planted it.

Don't wanna go to school tomorrow. Only ten more school days left. Gotta do book inventory (yuck!) and grades (blech!) and teach a little Shakespeare stuff (hooray!)

previous - next




Diaryland