Eggses
2006-04-16 8:30 p.m.

Eventful weekend.

Friday was to have been my trans-esophageal echocardiogram, or TEE, to figure out why I'm having neurological badness and leakage in my heart. None of the other tests have shown anything but normal, normal, normal, so I had high hopes for this one. We got a call to come early, so off we went. I got all prepped and IVed, ready and waiting...and they scrubbed the test. My coumadin level was too high. Chances of internal bleeding. Why didn't I stop the coumadin before the test, they asked? Um, no one told me to. I even checked the written directions, which told me to take my usual meds the night before. Since my *only* regular med is coumadin, I figured that meant "take your coumadin as usual." At least we don't have to pay for the workup.

The cardiologist, who appeared to be about sixteen, will reschedule me. He offered a new theory--that I might have more than one defect ("hole") in my atrial septum. Makes sense to me. He says the TEE will show it if it's there. Sigh. More waiting.

Friday evening, we had an alarming occurrence. Casey the Wonder Borkita awoke from a nap, acting dizzy, confused, and tilting hard to the left. We made him as comfortable as we could, but we were really worried. Got him to the vet early on Saturday, thinking we might have to put the old guy down. She took one look at him, smiled broadly, and told us he has old dog vestibular syndrome. Basically, his balance is all screwed up in his brain, but he'll get better rather quickly. She was right, because he's improving a lot. He can stagger around now, and he's getting less panicky. He should be fine in a few weeks.

I know, he's ancient, but I'm glad I don't have to let him go yet. The vet was relieved, too. She loves Casey.

Today was a lovely day full of gorgeous church music, twirling little girls in pastel frocks, still more new babies at church, delicious lunch with Roger, Kim, Alex, and Kim's Nawlins expat family, and delicious spring weather.

I even got the taxes done last night, and we're getting a refund.

If only I didn't have school tomorrow!

previous - next




Diaryland