Garden Gnome
2006-04-09 11:17 p.m.

I should have known that a week with no entry would alarm y'all. (Sorry, Tam!) I am fine, just wiped out!

This week was the end of the nine weeks, so Cher and I were madly calculating grades, finishing papers, and planning the rest of our year. It's Spring Break now, so I can rest a bit.

You didn't really believe me when I said that, did you?

This weekend we spent watching movies (V for Vendetta and Constantine) and going to the Second Annual Cherry Blossom Festival at the Miyazaki Garden here in Our Fair Coastal City. The latter would have been more of an occasion if the cherry trees hadn't finished doing their thing *last* week. We've had thunderstorms, too, which knocked the rest of the petals off the wee blossoms, so I guess we really had the Cherry Leaf Festival today. That's sort of the point, neh? Life is fleeting...nothing lasts...etc.

Now I am distracted by thoughts of my garden. It's high time that I finished my flower beds and got shrubs and perennials in. I'm trying to figure out the best way to yank the old shrubs out of the ground. Anyone had any luck using vehicles? (Y'know, tie a rope to the car, yank shrub out?) And, no, Theo, I don't have a logging chain, or a truck. I have a minivan and some rope.

I'm also debating about plants. I need shrubs that love shade. I have one happy fatsia which will be joined by two more. That will make the front flower bed the Jurassic Garden, since fatsias look sort of primitive, with big, tropical leaves. I'm going to add toad lilies, ferns, and hostas. If I ever find a stone brontosaurus, he's in there, too.

The new front bed will get barberries to go with my very happy camellias. I'm thinking about planting some begonia bulbs, maybe some columbine. Any good shade perennial ideas?

I'm also toying with an idea involving yard gnomes, paint, and cement-piercing. Stay tuned!

previous - next




Diaryland