Not an April Fool's Joke
2006-04-01 7:27 p.m.

I am discovering that my body has decided to go back in time, to the way it behaved just after the first round of strokes in 2000. Normally, I am fairly coordinated, strong for a girl, and I can work flat-out for a good ten hours before I crash. I like physical labor, and I tend to tackle big, yucky jobs eagerly, because it's so satisfying to get them done.

For the last year or so, I've been doing lots of hard physical labor in my house and yard, with no ill effects beyond sore muscles and normal tiredness.

Today, I dug three holes and moved three azaleas, then pruned some shrubs and bagged the debris. I stopped for lunch, then fell asleep.

When I got up, my coordination was shot to heck. I couldn't pour a glass of water without using both hands. I keep stumbling when I walk. I'm having a really tough time typing this, because my fingers don't want to hit the right keys.

Nothing is numb, and nothing untoward is happening. I just exceeded my limits, and now I have to rest. I've been here before, and I didn't like it then.

Dang! I hate sitting still. I really, really hate this stuff. I'm too young to feel this old.

previous - next




Diaryland