Weekendiness
2006-03-12 9:15 p.m.

Yesterday was a day of industriousness! Inspired by the lovely weather, the Samurai and I crushed boxes and reclaimed the garage. We filled my van with boxes, shutters, bits of lumber, and other crappus, then drove the short distance to the city landfill, AKA Mount Trashmore II. (The original Mt. Trashmore is a lovely park. This one will be bigger and better. Right now, it's methane-stinky.)

There, we joined a long line of similarly laden vehicles. We pulled onto the scales, talked to the speaker, and went to dump our stuff. (I kept expecting Arlo Guthrie to pop up at this point.) After getting rid of the crappus, we decided to go get some of the landfill's excellent compost while we were there. Oh, a mostly-toothless city worker tells us, you pay for it at the scales.

Back we go, park, and walk up to the window. "She'll help you," a nice man says.

No, she won't. The woman inside barks at us to get back in our vehicle, go back out through the gates, and join the ever-lengthening line. We can't just walk up and pay for mulch! That would be too easy! We must *suffer* for our mulch.

We look at each other. Forget this! We leave and go to Sonic for lunch.

I did get the liriope sheared, but no more destruction done, yet. Found half a brick in the liri I didn't shear last year. No wonder it looked so awful. I still need to dig it all up and divide it. Got azaleas to move, too, and old Japanese hollies to destroy. All of that can happen this week, in the afternoon.

Sarah the Chocloate Lab Niece is gone, now. Raj and Kim came home from Hawaii, and Sarah is back with her peoples. Casey is bereft. He's been moping. I think we really need to get him a dog of his very own. (Then THAT dog will need a dog, and so on....)

Today we were slothful. Didn't even go to church. We were both tired, and we just hung around here, reading the paper and enjoying each other's company. I am so glad I married my best friend! He gets my jokes and helps me remember what I'm quoting. ("could it be...ze GERMANS?" from Snatch) He watches terrible cartoons with me, too. He's the best.

previous - next




Diaryland