Chawklit Moose
2006-03-04 10:56 p.m.

There is a Moose in our hoose.

My brother, Raj, and his lovely wife, Kim, are off to Oahu for a week. Alex, the Nephew of Massive Cuteness, is at Camp Grandma, and Sarah the Chocolate Lab, AKA the Chocolate Moose, is at Camp EduCait.

Sarah is a LARGE Lab, meaning taller than Casey, and very athletic. She's four, so she's past the annoying chewing stage, but still enough of a puppy to be energetic and endlessly curious. She's been here since last night, and I think I've had an audience for every morsel that's passed my lips. I'm gonna stop eating due to constant surveillance.

Casey initially felt very jealous and possessive, of his food and water dishes, his special place next to the sofa, and his pet woman. He growled at Sarah every time I tried to pet her, until he and I had a Special Talk. (I growled at him, eye to eye, until he looked away. He stopped fussing.)

Today, he's decided he LOVES Sarah, and must be where she is. They were very cute outside this morning. Sarah romped in circles around him, until he barked at her to hold still. She's stop for a few moments, until her energy got the better of her, and she started frisking around again. She generally defers to the old guy, but she seems to enjoy messing with him, too.

We're enjoying the extra doggage, but we're having issues with the stench. The dogs themselves are not smelly, but they're both quite flatulent. I'm going to run out of scented candles before the week is out!

Sarah also loves to roll in the grass, which leaves her looking like a coconut-encrusted truffle with long, long legs. Good thing she likes to be brushed.

previous - next




Diaryland