Chirpy Entry
2006-02-18 12:10 a.m.

I promised Kat a cheerful entry,so here goes.

Good stuff in EduCait's life lately:

* Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife: I finally got to read this (thanks, Kat!) and after I got used to Darcy's repeated takings of said wife, I enjoyed it. One of the more realistic fictional marriage portrayals I've seen--at least, it reminded me of *my* particular marriage. (Yeah, now you're picturing Darcy in Samurai armor. You know he's hot!)

* One of my favorite, troubled former students has returned to my school, ten years later, as a very good sub and aspiring teacher. I am so pleased to see one of my awkward marsh-wiggles (that's what I call the weedy, gloomy ones) become such a thoughtful and excellent man.

* Another cool book: Sunshine by Robin McKinley. She's one of my favorites, especially when she gives a fresh take on a popular folkloric theme. In this one, it's vampires.

* Box of Godiva: my favorite mood-elevating medication is chocolate, and my Samurai is an enabler. I can generally make them last a long time, too! MMMMmmmm, Godiva!

* Three day weekend with a chance of snow: I am not yet done jonesing for "real" winter (yeah, I hear you NoVa people sniggering. Cut it out!) and I want to see some flakes.

* Fifty daffodil bulbs all sprouting at once! Woo hoo! I can't wait to see them bloom, because I don't remember which colors I planted where. Casey is so used to me zooming around the yard to check on them that he automatically waddles over to all the planting sites when we go outside. Silly doggie, silly woman.

* Bigelow Rose Salve: my lips are finally NOT chapped, for, like, the first time in 42 years. Good stuff.

* Interesting dreams. Had one recently where I let my hair go back to its natural color (almost solid silver, to judge from my part) and texture (curly). Even though the Samurai prefers my tresses long, brown, and silky, it's a lot of work. In my dream, it was a huge relief to stop coloring, straightening, and brushing. Can I train my hubby to find silver curls sexy? (The conditioning-of the man, not the hair--might be fun.)

Speaking of dreams, the Samurai keeps having one that features Taffy dressed as Queen Elizabeth I. Talk about disturbing mental images!

* Blackbear visits this weekend! That means fun with SpineDoc and his family, too.

* A somewhat mean-spirited positive: Mr. Helo Grandpa came for a conference last Weds. and began spouting lies about me and Cher (we don't send weekly updates, our assignments are too confusing, we don't check the child's planner). I had a binder with me, filled with 63 pages of email hardcopies, from him, thanking us for each weekly update, praising the detail in our assignment directions and rubrics, thanking us for signing her planner every single day, etc. He can't resist the last word, so he responds to every single thing we send him. When he started in, I refuted each claim with *his own words.* He started twitching violently every time I opened that binder. Yeah, buddy, I keep records. He's being much nicer to us now. (And let it be noted, I have never, ever been mean to his darling child. I love her; she's a sweetheart, and fun to teach.)

Off to snuggle with Mr. Darc--um, my Samurai, and watch Battlestar Galactica!

previous - next




Diaryland