It's gotta be the Joker's fault!
2006-02-09 4:48 p.m.

I simply cannot get a break this week.

Yesterday, I had to write THREE more referrals. One for a girl who smacked the donkers out of a boy's noggin, one for a kid who had diarrhea of the mouth, and one for a doofus who threatened to "light me up" if I didn't "get out his face." I had the temerity to tell him to start his classwork! Sheesh! As for lighting me up, I told him he was welcome to try it. He didn't take me up on it.

Another of our kids nearly got expelled for passing around his original artwork, a drawing of one of his other teachers with a gun to her head. He labeled her, and signed the drawing. His mom was distraught--he got three days out-of-school suspension and a police report filed on him--so Momma called the only teacher whose number she had. At 9:30 last night. Crying. Yes, she called me.

Oh, the myriad joys of teaching.

This morning, I got to school at 7:45, expecting a bunch of detainees at 8. Another Momma was waiting for me, angry, miscreant cub in tow. I didn't get four feet into the building before she was all over me. It took me 45 minutes to explain to her that her son had concealed his report card (he claimed *I* had it) and his progress report (I "hadn't given him one")--he didn't count on Momma and me going through his binder. The deceitful little snot!

THEN I got chewed out by a colleague for passing on a message for the Distraught Late-Night Momma.

The icing on the dungheap? I had to write up one of my kids for doing a very nice flying roundhouse kick and taking out a sixth grader! The little guy was okay, but it's due to Jimmy's bad aim without his glasses. Is the moon full? Did the Joker poison the water supply?

Will I survive three more conferences tomorrow? And five meetings and three conferences (so far) next week?

I need a vacation!

previous - next




Diaryland