Bad day
2006-02-07 7:56 p.m.

This has been a freaking horrible day.

Cher and I both had to write referrals for different kids doing different stuff today. Mine involved a kid swearing his booty off in front of the principal this morning. Ya think he'd have noticed she was standing right there, but noooooo. We also have nine kids coming for detention on Thursday, all for reporting to class without pen, pencil, paper, or planner. (All of the kids at our school are expected to carry their planner at all times. Many of our IEPs require us to check to be sure the homework is recorded in there, and sign them.) We are not sure why anyone would come to class just to sit there and look bored, but we are not happy with the general laziness we are currently seeing. Y'all might end up supporting these doofuses with your hard-earned taxpayer dollars.

Then I get a little note from Homeland Security in my box. I have to fill out a form and show documents proving that I'm an American citizen, and I have to do it in the presence of our little HR security guy. I've never even been out of the country--heck, my family has been here since something like 1627. I should be demanding documentation from most of the rest of y'all! What is up with this silliness?

Finally, one of my former students is dead. He hanged himself while in custody at a local jail. He was a gifted athlete and musician, and he had a drinking problem. He was nineteen.

Like I said, a bad day.

previous - next




Diaryland