Gloom
2006-01-17 9:32 p.m.

The winds of misfortune are once more wafting through EduCaitLand.

First, I have the upper-respiratory nastiness that the kiddos have been broadcasting all over the school. I feel gross. I occasionally sound terrible. Sleep and Airborne are helping. Yuck.

Second, the Preacher (my hubby's daddy) has been in the hospital for a few days. He's had various symptoms, including some left-side numbness and vision trouble. The docs did a CAT scan to be sure he wasn't having an aneurysm, then followed up with echocardiogram, carotid echo, and MRI--all standard stroke stuff. Dad just called to say the stroke diagnosis has been confirmed. (Well, duh! sez I. When you've had one, you recognize the signs.) He'll be on a short leash for a while--diet, exercise, blood thinners, etc. I am very worried.

Thirdly, the wife of an old friend died on Friday. She was a highly respected teacher here in Our Fair Coastal City, and she had a brain tumor. Her cancer progressed with startling rapidity. I'll be in touch with my friend soon. At the very least, we need to reconnect with him and let him know we're available for company. Poor, poor guy.

Fourthly, Casey the Wonder Borkita is still having bladder issues, despite good meds from the vet. He goes in for some abdominal x-rays tomorrow. We fear something is putting pressure on his bladder-vet suspects a tumor. She assures me that such things are easily treatable. I'll trust her judgement. I'm not ready to lose the old guy yet. He's feeling pretty chipper otherwise. He's been demanding lots of affection lately. He can head-butt me nearly off my feet when he wants an ear scratch!

Fifthly, my watch stopped today at 11:22. It's permanently one minute to lunchtime, which means it's always study hall. Blech.

Must go eat some dinner and be mizzable on the couch.

previous - next




Diaryland