Grey Day
2005-11-12 8:16 p.m.

A year ago, I was painting the inside of this house when the Blackbear called to tell me our Duke was gone. I rolled grey paint onto my dining room walls with tears running down my face. I kept painting because the grey reminded me of His Grace's lovely eyes. I am sorry he never got to join us here. He was so eager for us to become homeowners. He kept telling me I'd need to build a pond.

Yesterday, we scraped, sanded, and patched the trim and front siding on this poor old hoose. Several bits outside are rotten, and today a very nice lady carpenter came over to assess the damage and give us an estimate. One of the front porch columns is so rotten that the Samurai was able to make a hole (a "birdhouse") in it with his poky little fingers. We need professional help!

Our friends the Padawan (named for his half-ponytail-half-short hairstyle) and the A-hole (named for his mouth) came over to help us. We got the entire place primed, with Casey's canine supervision, just as the last rays of sun burned away. Tomorrow, we'll paint the place. It already looks much better--less like a chalky punkin, more like a real house.

Later this week I will plant my camellias and some pansies. It will be beautiful.

Some good news--the nice lady carpenter tells me I can lay tile directly on the vinyl in the yucky bathroom, because it's a small, highly stable bit of floor. I wasn't looking forward to taking up vinyl. She also told us how to fix the drafty door on the garage. She's going to be doing a number of jobs for us, including a new front door.

I might actually get that dang bathroom done before Christmas. Caloo, callay!

Harry Potter Skip Day coming soon!

previous - next




Diaryland