Clowny Dog
2005-10-23 4:12 p.m.

Today, I have a pukin' migraine, so I stay home from church. Would not be good to barf while doing infant nursery, no sirree.

Casey is in the back yard when I finally get up. He's standing under the bedroom window, woofing at me. I'm not sure how he knows I'm in there, but he wants me UP.

He runs over to me (well, lumbers over, actually), tail waving, goofy grin on his loony face. He's so happy he does a little jig, prancing. He wants to play, so I tussle gently with him in the sunny yard. He is, after all, an old dude.

We go inside where he wolfs his dog food, laps up all the water in his dish, and prances around some more, looking for a game. I give him a chew toy, but I have to activate it first, by playing keep-away, and tossing it around. It keeps him happy for maybe five minutes.

I think he likes the cooler weather.

I find that my dog's clowning has distracted me from my pain. I go take more migraine meds, drink tea, and read the paper. After the Samurai returns, I have to go to the grocery store and do schooly things.

I'm used to functioning through migraine pain, because I've had them since I was three. They run in my mom's family. Sometimes, prescription meds work, but sometimes they don't. I'm used to the pain, mostly, and it goes away. I just have to wait it out. It's the nausea I hate.

A midwife once told me that women who have migraines do really well in labor without drugs, because they understand how to relax through pain, and can grasp that it's only temporary. It seems strange to me that there are lots of people who don't have Pain Experience, like I do. For me, it's just something that happens every so often. I deal with it.

Off to clip coupons and shower. I guess I should eat, too, so I don't come home with all the junk food in the store. Gotta get more chew toys, too.

previous - next




Diaryland