Dresseseses
2005-06-18 5:50 p.m.

I went dress shopping again today. This is always a scary thing, made more so by the recent tendency of women's ready-to-wear clothing towards gypsy hooker chic. While I am built like a tart (at least in the hooter dept.), I am not inclined to dress like one. This leaves me stuck in the middle aged lady departments.

So, here are my choices: Mildly Horrible, Moderately Horrible, Truly Atrocious, and WTF IS That? I started in Mildly Horrible, AKA "Better Dresses." So many choices: lace? Embroidery? Fruit? Beads? Fringe? Applique? Geegaws? Frills? Ruffles? Furbelows? Doodads? Big honkin' Bozo buttons? Weird hanky hemlines? Bows? Sparkly brooches? Fake flowers?

Then there are colors, ranging from okay to corpsifying. (There is a shade of plum which renders my rosy Viking complexion downright grey. Another variation on gold makes me look jaundiced.) And fabrics, mostly polyester, which in summer heat are about like wearing a Hefty bag. Yuck.

I finally found a nice medium-green ("alfalfa" it sez on the ticket) linen dress with matching short sleeved jacket, lined nicely, tailored well, although a bit snug in the bazoombas. Has a wee bit of same-color embroidery on the sleeves and pintucks on the jacket. Not frilly, or grandmotherly. Wearable for school, too, and 70% off to boot.

Of course, I tried on about 27 other disasters first. Of those, two were acceptable, but the wrong size. Oh well.

Must go write my paper, and do laundry. Casey is feeling better, so he wants to "help."

previous - next




Diaryland