Kotogoto
2003-11-10 9:04 p.m.

On Friday, we spent our day making nice with Japanese professors. We went over to ODU and sat through lectures, even though some of them were odd and some of the responses to them from the university community were even more odd. (I now know more about gay lit and Hungarian refugee angst than I needed to know, thank you.) I found the old translation problem was in full swing, too; you ask the nice Asian man about fish and you get a lecture about the price of beef. Very strange.

By Friday evening, I was very tired and a bit hazy as we made our way to the koto concert, held in the hall next to the arena car races. Koto is very, very soothing, although not SCA period by about 30 years. I sort of floated through the recital. Did get a brief chat with Goliath, who is waxing fiercely protective about the heart thingy. I wish I saw him more often. His perspective is so different from mine, and such a catalyst.

Saturday, we went to the city championship football game with the Buffalo Gal. My school vs. the Bruisers from the Northern part of our fair city. I am ashamed to say it was the first feetball game I've attended in 16 years at my school. Isn't that awful? Usually, they're on school nights, and I'm toast after teaching all day. We huddled together for warmth, enjoyed the lunar eclipse, and laughed at all the supposedly-cool teenagers who came to sit with their teachers. I love my kids! And, mirabile visu, we won! Our wee squirts beat the bruisers with superior teamwork and sheer grit, plus a killer defense.

After feeding the Buffalo Gal, we saw Matrix Revolutions. I was surprised at how moved I was.

Sunday was all about baby nephew Alex. That boy has me wrapped around his little finger. I love his giggle!

Today passed in a blur of fussin', and tomorrow will be more sewing. Yes, I have decided, as I do every five years or so, that All My Garb Is Crap, and I Need To Make Good Stuff Now. Anyone want some cotton t-tunics?

This weekend: Dun Carraig, here we come!

previous - next




Diaryland